Obama, Where Are Thine Accusers?

Just this morning, I was returning home from dropping my wife off at her job when the news came across the airwaves:

The price of oil now stands at $105 a barrel. The price of gas continues to rise.”

Who’s to blame for this? I, for one, refuse to blame the current occupant of the White House as the culprit, be he Democrat or Republican. However, I can recall not too long ago when gas prices flirted with the $4.00 mark that a lot of people threw the mantle of blame on our then-President George W. Bush. When asked why he was to blame, a common answer was “Well, he’s the President and the gas prices are going up.” Many people jumped on the Blame Bush bandwagon and pretty soon our very own loyal news media propagated the message that Dubya was indeed responsible for the vertical climb of gas prices. People seemed to not take notice that gas prices took a tumble below the $2.00 mark before the 2008 Presidential Election, but that’s okay. We hate Bush so we found it very convenient to blame him for all the negative ills that our country had to endure. All of that was going to change, however. In November 2008, we elected a “savior” who promised to lead us into the Promised Land. The deficit was going to be slashed until it bled to death. Jobs would be so prolific it would be similar to a kid going to the candy store with one dollar and taking his pick. Even Obama supporter, Peggy Joseph, praised him saying she wouldn’t have to worry about paying her mortgage or putting gas in her tank. Fast forward three years later and gas prices are higher than they’ve ever been at this time of the year, jobs are hard to come by, and our economy is lying sick in the IC unit of the hospital (pick one). It’s Obama’s fault…right? Not so fast mi hombre! Even though this is now Obama’s economy, it’s still Bush’s fault! Jobs are hard to find; it’s Bush’s fault! The economy is going down the proverbial drain; it’s Bush’s fault! Gas prices are on the rise; it’s Bush’s fault! My mother is terminally ill; it’s Bush’s fault! My dog died; it’s Bush’s fault! Even our dear Commander in Chief is pushing the blame game, absolving himself of any responsibility for the shape our country is in today. After all, he is our nation’s fourth best President. Here’s the deal: Bush has been gone for three years now and our present Pres. needs to man up and take responsibility for the present state of our nation. The jobs haven’t come as he promised, he has added more debt to this country than the first forty Presidents combined, and the economy has sunk even further down the rabbit hole. It’s all good, though, when you are surrounded by loyal supporters who like to look the other way when something negative comes into view. I’m talking about you, Main Stream Media! Mr. Obama, once again, grow a pair and admit that all this “Hope and Change” you used as your rally cry to get elected isn’t really all that you thought it would be. I hold YOU responsible for not living up to your promises, not Bush. The former President probably woke up this morning and made some coffee for Laura. Stop blaming Bush, because he is not in a position to do anything about the state of our nation. On a final note, could anyone locate the aforementioned Peggy Joseph? I’ve got something on my heart that I’ve just got to ask her!

Author: V. E. Brown

I was born in Roanoke, VA on October 16, 1968. A few years later, my family settled in the Washington, DC area where I grew up. I graduated from Friendly Senior High School in 1986. I attended North Carolina Central University in Durham, NC as a geography major. Looking for a change of environment, I made Durham my permanent home in 1988. In October of 1986, I accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior and began attending Mt Zion Christian Church. In 2003, I met a lovely young lady from Liberia named Autherine and we were married a year later. I believe in the deity of Jesus Christ and the inerrancy of God's Holy Word, the Bible. I follow a Christian/conservative worldview. I enjoy reading, writing, movies, badminton, football (Dolphins, baby!!!), bowling, board, video, and computer games, and traveling.

Leave a Reply

