Hope and Change?

We are living in a country that is in the midst of turmoil. We have an unprecedented financial crisis in which none of our politicians seems to know the solution. In light of this, ironically, a lot of us are looking to these same politicians for the answers to our problems. We tell them “Increase the minimum wage!” or “Give us affordable healthcare!” or “Help me get a home!” In other words, we are telling the government “Take care of me!” Then along comes a politician who promises hope and change and we all shout “He will take care of us!” However, we are a little delusional in our thinking.
First, the hope and change we are all fussing about already lies within every one of us. We can’t look to Barak Obama for it when it already lies within us. We cannot expect a politician to do for us what we can do for ourselves. We expect them to reduce the crime rate, yet we won’t report criminal activity before it gets out of hand. We support giving more money to the government so they can better educate our children when education begins at home. (How much does it cost to teach a child that two plus two equals four, anyway?). The list goes on and on. We keep begging the government for handouts when we can take care of ourselves.
Moreover, do you actually think the government is going to do for us what we can do for ourselves? We live in a capitalistic society which, believe it or not, is the best economic system on the planet. (I mean, really, what’s the other alternative? Communism?) Capitalism gives us all an equal opportunity to get in on this American Dream we’ve heard about all our lives. There is basically no limit to what we can achieve in this country. Here we are sitting on a loaf of bread and we’re begging the government to give us some crumbs! Taxes are necessary in some circumstances, but my goodness! How much does they need? We beg for their help and what do they do? Raise taxes. Moreover, many of us think this is helping us succeed even though the government is giving us a mere crumbs worth of what we gave them. I don’t know about you, but I don’t like it when I get my paycheck and the government has already taken their share and then they deem it humanitarian to give me back a fraction of what I gave them. Yes, taxes are necessary, but only to a limit. At one time we were crying about not having a lottery. The government pundits and media spinsters convinced many of us a lottery would help pay for education even though many experts showed the amount from a lottery would be a drop in the bucket compared to what was needed. The passage of a lottery in North Carolina was based on greed not need. A lot of people think they are making a wise investment decision by playing the lottery in the hopes of one day “striking it rich”. They don’t realize they’re not getting a return on their money. They eagerly give away their money in the hopes of earning easy millions not realizing they may never hit the lottery ever in their lifetime. The government eagerly takes the money and says “You didn’t get it this time, but keep trying” while all the while smiling in glee at the new source of revenue. I once heard someone call the lottery “a tax on stupidity”. Those aren’t my words. Just lets you know what the government thinks of you.
I could go on and on but my main point is we shouldn’t depend on the government to help us along. This hope and change that Barak Obama talks about already lies in each of us as individuals. He promises hope and change but he can’t give it because it isn’t his to give. Only when we realize that we as individuals have to power to initiate hope and change will it happen. Until then, we cannot expect our government to bring it to pass.

Have a good day and I’ll see you on the rebound.

Author: V. E. Brown

I was born in Roanoke, VA on October 16, 1968. A few years later, my family settled in the Washington, DC area where I grew up. I graduated from Friendly Senior High School in 1986. I attended North Carolina Central University in Durham, NC as a geography major. Looking for a change of environment, I made Durham my permanent home in 1988. In October of 1986, I accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior and began attending Mt Zion Christian Church. In 2003, I met a lovely young lady from Liberia named Autherine and we were married a year later. I believe in the deity of Jesus Christ and the inerrancy of God's Holy Word, the Bible. I follow a Christian/conservative worldview. I enjoy reading, writing, movies, badminton, football (Dolphins, baby!!!), bowling, board, video, and computer games, and traveling.

Leave a Reply

