I Know It’s Wrong…But, Who Am I To Judge?

“Judge not that ye be not judged.” “You can’t tell a person what he/she can do with their life.” “I know__________ is wrong, but I can’t judge a person for the decisions he/she makes.” 

Have you heard these lines before? Whenever a question of morality arises, there are some people who will resort to the above excuses to absolve themselves or someone else from the consequences of their actions. A lot of people feel that whatever personal decisions a person makes that that is the right decision for that person, no matter if that decision happens to affect others. However, the proponents of the above statements believe that individual choices don’t affect others. Before I continue, let me explain why I have included Matthew 7:1 in the list of excuses. This quote (Judge not that ye be not judged) is probably one of the misquoted phrases from the Bible. People like to abuse this verse to reprimand folks to not look at what one is doing wrong. In other words, if you see someone doing something wrong and immoral, just look the other way and forget what you saw. This isn’t what that scripture is talking about. If one continues to read past the first verse, it will be discovered the phrase is talking about hypocrisy, not keeping quiet about another’s wrongs. A lot of people love taking this verse out of context.

Anyway, I have a word for people like this: Apathy. Apathetic people usually have a passive mind that is geared towards indifference. It’s all right what an individual decides as long as it doesn’t affect them. I see this a lot when it comes to people of the liberal/progressive persuasion. Many of these people don’t read (they despise it), so, therefore, they’re not going to go into research to determine if what they believe is right or wrong. These are also the types that usually get most of their information from the evening news or biased word of mouth but never look to see if the information they have received is factual. These are what I call “lazy-minded folks”.

Let me share one example of an apathetic person. Lately, I’ve been hearing a lot of people declaring that abortion is wrong but that they won’t condemn a woman if she so chooses. I can rearrange this statement to fit a myriad of different situations. What if I said “I know 2+2=7 is wrong , but if that’s the answer the student chose, why should I mark it wrong?’ or, “I know robbing banks is wrong, but who am I to condemn the bank robber for making that choice?” or, “I know that murder is wrong, but I’m not going to condemn the murderer because that was his choice (consequently, murder is always the result of an abortion)?” Do you see what I’m hitting at, folks? If you believe something is wrong then it becomes your duty to point out that wrong so it can be corrected, not look the other way. Moreover, don’t even talk about that “It doesn’t affect me, so who am I to judge?” garbage. Sounds selfish, doesn’t it? Ignoring something we know to be wrong represents an erosion on morality and principle. We may give a child an “A” on his paper because we don’t want to look “judgmental”, but if we let that idea get widespread acceptance, the result will be a nation of uneducated children, which can lead to other negative results. We may say it’s a woman’s choice to have an abortion (translated: murder her unborn child) because the child may have a difficult life but the same could be said for the elderly among us, so let’s kill them, too! No matter how we choose to look at different situations, when someone chooses to ignore what’s wrong, it affects ALL of us, whether we want to admit it or not.

Ezekiel 3:18 – When I say unto the wicked, Thou shalt surely die; and thou givest him not warning, nor speakest to warn the wicked from his wicked way, to save his life; the same wicked man shall die in his iniquity; but his blood will I require at thine hand.

If you are an apathetic person, trust me, you hate this Scripture.

While we’re on the subject of judging, let me point something out: It is NOT a sin to judge!

John 7:24 – Judge not according to the appearance, but judge righteous judgment.

I Corinthians 2:15 – But he that is spiritual judgeth all things, yet he himself is judged of no man.

When we judge, it should be to point out what is wrong and deal with it without bias and hypocrisy; that is what Matthew 7:1 is talking about.

Let me sum it all up. We are to point out what is wrong and correct it. We are doing no one any favors and showing our compassion if we look the other way. If someone is about to do something wrong, we need to warn him. If someone has done something wrong, we need to address it (yes, I am in favor of “snitching”). If we would all make up in our minds to do this, our families, communities, towns, cities, nations, and the whole world will become a much better place as a result and we will begin to understand that we all are our brothers’ (and sisters’!) keeper.

Have a good day and I’ll see you on the rebound.

Author: V. E. Brown

I was born in Roanoke, VA on October 16, 1968. A few years later, my family settled in the Washington, DC area where I grew up. I graduated from Friendly Senior High School in 1986. I attended North Carolina Central University in Durham, NC as a geography major. Looking for a change of environment, I made Durham my permanent home in 1988. In October of 1986, I accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior and began attending Mt Zion Christian Church. In 2003, I met a lovely young lady from Liberia named Autherine and we were married a year later. I believe in the deity of Jesus Christ and the inerrancy of God's Holy Word, the Bible. I follow a Christian/conservative worldview. I enjoy reading, writing, movies, badminton, football (Dolphins, baby!!!), bowling, board, video, and computer games, and traveling.

Leave a Reply

