Welcome to the PCNTS (The Politically Correct Nation of the Thin-Skinned)

WOW! That’s all I can say about the latest entries into the Diary of the Politically Correct. Several days ago, an ESPN worker was fired and another suspended behind the phrase Chink in the Armor, a phrase I haven’t heard in many years. The headline was made in reference to the New York Knicks having their seven-game winning streak halted by the inferior New Orleans Hornets. However, one of the players on the Knicks’ team was none other than upcoming NBA star, Jeremy Lin, who happens to have Oriental origins. Of course, some analysts put two and two together, and viola! – all of a sudden, the statement is seen as racist. Funny thing is, I don’t recall Mr. Lin being offend by the statement (if I am wrong, let me know). So now, folks are all up in arms, going ballistic like a wayward flock of fruit bats because they are afraid that some Oriental folks are going to riot in the streets, set fire to businesses, and murder innocent people like a bunch of Muslims whose Qurans have been burned. “Jeremy”, they seem to be saying, “we know you’re not offended, so we’ll be offended for you.”

This is bad enough, but, lo and behold, the wave of “racism” continues. I’m sitting at the computer while my exceedingly gorgeous wife is lounging in the living room watching a K-drama on Hulu Plus when this headline crossed my field of vision:

Ben and Jerry’s replaces fortune cookies in ‘Lin-sanity’ flavor after controversy

Yep, you read that right. Oh, but it gets better! Check this out: Ben and Jerry’s (whose pumpkin pie ice cream is to absolutely DIE for) decided to come up with a flavor of ice cream in honor of the Oriental sensation (I wonder if the mention of “Oriental” is a racist statement). Anyway, the concoction consisted of vanilla ice cream, honey swirls, and bits of fortune cookies (oh, yes! You know where this is going). I mean, how cool is that? Make some awesome, breathtaking dunks on the court and someone wants to honor you with your own flavor of ice cream!!!! I would love to have my own flavor of ice cream; we would call it VIN-SANITY  (get it?). It would be a mish-mash of chocolate ice cream, cashews, coconut, and chocolate-cinnamon swirls. I mean, it would be so good, you would want to hang from a tree by one arm and scream like a monkey!!!!! B and J’s idea was to honor the Knicks’ star, but NOOOOOOO! The PC brigade once again had to come in and mess the whole thing to pieces. There was a backlash that the addition of fortune cookies was “racist”, so, therefore, the ice cream giant is replacing the fortune cookie bits with bits of waffle cone. Have you ever compared the flavor of a waffle cone with that of a fortune cookie? They both taste similar, so what’s the big deal? The big deal is the US Constitution clearly states that everyone has a right to not be offended. Wait a minute…what?…it doesn’t…but the PC crowd says it does…oh, all right; that’s not in the Constitution. Once again, is there any word on Jeremy Lin being offended at this? By the way, a vast majority of fortune cookies are consumed by Americans. One would be hard-pressed to find fortune cookies in the Orient.

If we’re going to run with this, why don’t we get rid of vanilla ice cream (it may offend white folks), chocolate (black folks), and strawberry (Indians). Hey, let’s get rid of all ice cream since its presence seems to offend Michelle Obama (I think).

During this Black History Month of February, several schools decided to honor this month with special lunches of fried chicken, collard greens, sweet potatoes, corn bread, and Kool-Aid (just kidding about the Kool-Aid). Once again, the PC police swooped down to declare the lunches as “racist”. You have absolutely got to be kidding! I tell you what – let me starve you for a couple of days and put a plate of the above-mentioned menu items in front of you and tell me if you’d rather starve because you are offended by what is sitting before you. That plate will be clean before you can say “This sucks!”

In my 40+ years of living, I have reached the conclusion that there are two kinds of people in this world: Those who like me and those who don’t. It took me a loooooong time to understand this but I have matured to the point where I am no longer bothered by it. Being a black man, I know there are people who don’t like me because I’m black (incidentally, it was black people who mostly talked about my skin color). My point is, if I’m not offended by someone’s statement about me why should everyone else be? I have yet to hear a word of offense from Mr. Lin (once again, correct me if I’m wrong).

Live long enough and someone is going to say something that offends you; it’s human nature. Protecting people from being offended is only going to lead to the trampling of rights of others. The right of Freedom of Speech is not undercut  by an “As long as it doesn’t offend others” clause. We have become a nation of thin-skinned crybabies, always whining because someone said something to hurt our wittle feelings. Awwwww!

In my book, ESPN needs to lift the punishment from its two employees and B and J’s needs to put the fortune cookies back in their ice cream. The PC crowd is always messing up a good thing because they’re afraid of someone getting offended. This has nothing to do with being offended, but it’s all about control. A lot of these folks want to control what you eat, hear, believe, and see. Any opportunity for control is sufficient for them.

I’m going to say it: The PC crowd is nothing but a bunch of fruit bats!

Jeremy Lin doesn’t seem to be bothered by all this. He seems right happy enjoying his new found superstar status. Finally, if B and J’s ever come up with a Vin-sanity themed flavor of ice cream, I get 75% of the profits.

Have a good day and I’ll see you on the rebound.

Author: V. E. Brown

I was born in Roanoke, VA on October 16, 1968. A few years later, my family settled in the Washington, DC area where I grew up. I graduated from Friendly Senior High School in 1986. I attended North Carolina Central University in Durham, NC as a geography major. Looking for a change of environment, I made Durham my permanent home in 1988. In October of 1986, I accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior and began attending Mt Zion Christian Church. In 2003, I met a lovely young lady from Liberia named Autherine and we were married a year later. I believe in the deity of Jesus Christ and the inerrancy of God's Holy Word, the Bible. I follow a Christian/conservative worldview. I enjoy reading, writing, movies, badminton, football (Dolphins, baby!!!), bowling, board, video, and computer games, and traveling.

Leave a Reply

