Trayvon Martin – A National Tragedy In More Ways Than One

As I am writing this, the nation is undergoing a media storm of sorts involving the tragic case of Trayvon Martin. The Florida teen was on his way home from the store carrying a bag of Skittles and a bottle of iced tea when he was gunned down by a member of a neighborhood watch program; this is tragic in and of itself. However, the thing that has made this incident such a national firestorm is the fact that Trayvon was black and his attacker, George Zimmerman, is a white Hispanic.

Of course, when a situation of this caliber occurs, race becomes a central issue and that is bad because the incident should be about justice for the victim sans the racial issues. Don’t get me wrong, race may have played a part in this tragedy but I feel many of us are jumping to conclusions too soon.

My thought on the whole thing is why wasn’t the shooter arrested and held for questioning? Why did he not obey the instructions to wait until the police arrived to handle the situation? Why did he take the matter into his own hands?

The shooter (murderer?) said he acted in self-defense and I, for one, am not buying it. Mr Zimmerman is taller and heavier than his victim and I find it hard to believe that he felt threatened by a bag of candy and a bottled beverage. Something is afoot here and time, hopefully, will reveal the real answer of what went on.

Of course, Al Sharpton is going to have his say, but I think he’s getting involved for the publicity and not for genuine concern of the situation. Let me add that when Sharptongue gets involved in anything, it’s never a good situation.

I find it surprising that Mr Obama has refused to get his hands dirty in this situation, saying this was a “local issue”. I have to wonder, though, if the shooter had simply been white if his hands would continue to remain so clean. More to come, I guess.

You all have a good day and I’ll see you on the rebound.

Author: V. E. Brown

I was born in Roanoke, VA on October 16, 1968. A few years later, my family settled in the Washington, DC area where I grew up. I graduated from Friendly Senior High School in 1986. I attended North Carolina Central University in Durham, NC as a geography major. Looking for a change of environment, I made Durham my permanent home in 1988. In October of 1986, I accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior and began attending Mt Zion Christian Church. In 2003, I met a lovely young lady from Liberia named Autherine and we were married a year later. I believe in the deity of Jesus Christ and the inerrancy of God's Holy Word, the Bible. I follow a Christian/conservative worldview. I enjoy reading, writing, movies, badminton, football (Dolphins, baby!!!), bowling, board, video, and computer games, and traveling.

1 thought on “Trayvon Martin – A National Tragedy In More Ways Than One”

  1. Though the police said Mr. Zimmerman was white, and his family says he is Hispanic, I have seen the media photo of Mr. Zimmerman and will say that he definitely looks Hispanic. Not that it matters, just clarifying some media reports. Now, about the photo of Trayvon. The photo looks like it was taken when he was maybe…15 and not 17. Probably an older school photo. So the photos make it look like a man killed a kid. Regardless, Zimmerman, from the reports I have read and heard, was told to stay in his car and did not. At that point, Zimmerman started a cycle of events that got out of control. Did Trayvon turn around and attack Zimmerman as some claim? We don’t know, and Zimmerman is staying out of sight on this one. You are right V.E, about Obama though. If Zimmerman had been ‘pure white’ Obama would probably have said something more….

Leave a Reply

