My Bad

I am going to take this time to print a retraction, of sorts, to one of my articles, titled Trayvon Martin – A National Tragedy In More Ways Than One, for this statement:

The shooter (murderer?) said he acted in self-defense and I, for one, am not buying it. Mr Zimmerman is taller and heavier than his victim and I find it hard to believe that he felt threatened by a bag of candy and a bottled beverage. Something is afoot here and time, hopefully, will reveal the real answer of what went on.

Let me say that in light of more information coming in about the Martin/Zimmerman case, I seriously regret making the above statement because it seems to have been made in error. I, for one, am not a proud person and I will admit when I make a mistake. Now, the easy thing for me to do would have been to delete the entire article and forget about it. However, I’m leaving it posted so future readers can see that I am human and that I will admit to my mistakes (unlike the libs, who like to cover up their shortcomings).

This is a good time to learn the lesson of not jumping to conclusions when we hear a story reported by the MSM (mainstream media), as this case serves as a prime example of how manipulating they can be. We have all seen the pictures of Trayvon Martin and George Zimmerman posted side by side. What a lot of us failed to realize (myself included) is that the pictures are fairly dated. The picture of Martin is from four or five years ago when he was 12 or 13 years old, whereas the mug shot of Zimmerman was also from several years ago. Basically, the media wanted to manipulate the public into believing this “innocent” kid met his fate at the hands of a career criminal who just so happens to be “white” (he looks Hispanic to me). Of course, the media didn’t use more updated photos of the two because that would defeat their purpose of stirring up the racial fires so they can have some serious news to report. I really do believe that the MSM sees the rest of us as guinea pigs to experiment on the reactions to their news stories. Moreover, the MSM is not about honest, truthful reporting; they want to report to the rest of us the news they think we should see. So, they edit, cut, and paste news clips to come up with a story that is not meant to convey the truth but to incite a reaction. Keep in mind that the mantra of the news media is to report the news, not the truth.

Anyway, I apologize for the above statement because Zimmerman was not taller and heavier than Martin. Moreover, even though the boy was carrying a bag of Skittles and a bottle of tea, he probably could have represented a serious threat to Mr Zimmerman; only time and evidence can tell.

In the meantime, many of us need to swallow our pride and admit that the MSM played us like a ten-cent flute. I’ve swallowed mine and, let me tell you, it didn’t go down real easy.

You all have a nice day and I’ll see you on the rebound.

 

Author: V. E. Brown

I was born in Roanoke, VA on October 16, 1968. A few years later, my family settled in the Washington, DC area where I grew up. I graduated from Friendly Senior High School in 1986. I attended North Carolina Central University in Durham, NC as a geography major. Looking for a change of environment, I made Durham my permanent home in 1988. In October of 1986, I accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior and began attending Mt Zion Christian Church. In 2003, I met a lovely young lady from Liberia named Autherine and we were married a year later. I believe in the deity of Jesus Christ and the inerrancy of God's Holy Word, the Bible. I follow a Christian/conservative worldview. I enjoy reading, writing, movies, badminton, football (Dolphins, baby!!!), bowling, board, video, and computer games, and traveling.

2 thoughts on “My Bad”

  1. A lot of people bought into it … the old failed media lies. Even ABC is still showing their doctored video where the new media is showing the high quality video showing the gashes in Zimmerman’s head and the blood on his red jacket. Reuter’s is famous for faking the news to fit an agenda and I give you 5 stars for realizing the MS has been dupping people.

  2. I remember reading that first comment you made, and I figured that with time you might change your opinion. Good going. You don’t mention seeing some recent photos of Trayvon, but he doesn’t exactly look like the friendliest guy in town in those shots. I wrote a piece on one of the blogs about how the liberal media, plus Sharpton, etc., was saying the Mr. Zimmerman was STALKING Trayvon Martin because he got out of his car and followed Trayvon. I wrote about how I had worked as a security guard at missile sites and also as a roving guard at one time and we guards had been taught by (Wells Fargo/Wackenhut) that the first duty of a guard is to OBSERVE AND REPORT. If you observe someone/something suspicious, you OBSERVE, then report (police immediately, written later). Mr. Zimmerman had been a neighborhood observer/watchman, whatever they were calling themselves for eight years, and Mr. Zimmerman obviously followed Trayvon to OBSERVE. The police dispatcher told him not to follow, and best reports I have now is Mr. Zimmerman returned to his car, and was (allegedly) attacked FROM BEHIND by Trayvon. So the STALKING claim doesn’t ring true, at least with me.

Leave a Reply

