I gleaned this post from Facebook friend, Lee Jenkins.

To tolerate or not to tolerate. Does “LOVE” require that we embrace evil and shun Justice?

I would dare to say as a Christian that I am no better than anyone else, everyone would admit that, especially Christians that understand that their goodness is not found in themselves, nor is it found in their behavior no matter how hard they try.

The fact of the matter is that we are all immoral no matt

er how good our actions maybe, due to the fact that our minds are our on personal property and no man can read them nor can they possess it. I may say something nice or do something nice and at the same time hate you inwardly, therefore my so-called loving act was done out of obligation and possible selfish ambition, causing my act to in fact be not loving at all.Christianity is founded upon Christ not man. I would also dare to say that to shun destructive behaviors, and to reject those things that would influence us to fail, or to cause us to be exposed to danger would be wise and beneficial. The problem is now for some people who oppose this view, based on an emotional feeling to reconcile Love and justice. Love and Justice are not separate and when you separate one from the other you have no love at all.

Love in no way requires me to tolerate, nor does it require me to embrace life styles or actions that are contrary to or that limit God’s moral Character. If it offends my conscience I take the stance that the best way to “Love” is to keep distance. Just how I see it! I don’t seek destruction for the evil doer but pray for repentance, I do believe I’m obligated to treat those who possess a life style contrary to the moral character of God with respect at all times knowing that at one time I was in the same boat, and understanding that Christ also extends His grace to them.

But must I accept, tolerate, or embrace people at the same time that reject Godly moral character? No! Though I’m no better than they, I must keep distance from their life style if they refuse to change it. Love does not require us to embrace those who practice evil in way that emotionalism would require it. Sound wisdom and simple common sense conveys safety. Am I safe physically, emotionally, or spiritually if I embrace certain behaviors? My argument is no! So how do I love then? By exclusion? In some instances I dare say yes!! Absolutely!!!

If your hungry I will feed you, naked I will clothe you, thirsty I will give you drink, sick I will pray for you, in prison I will visit you and and comfort you with the words of Christ, that He loves, forgives, and accepts us, and all one has to do is repent from evil and embrace by faith all He has provided for them. Accept wickedness in the name of political correctness? No! If you truly love others you will warn them of the danger to come which is the wrath of God for those who reject Christ, to not warn others is not love at all..

Author: V. E. Brown

I was born in Roanoke, VA on October 16, 1968. A few years later, my family settled in the Washington, DC area where I grew up. I graduated from Friendly Senior High School in 1986. I attended North Carolina Central University in Durham, NC as a geography major. Looking for a change of environment, I made Durham my permanent home in 1988. In October of 1986, I accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior and began attending Mt Zion Christian Church. In 2003, I met a lovely young lady from Liberia named Autherine and we were married a year later. I believe in the deity of Jesus Christ and the inerrancy of God's Holy Word, the Bible. I follow a Christian/conservative worldview. I enjoy reading, writing, movies, badminton, football (Dolphins, baby!!!), bowling, board, video, and computer games, and traveling.

Leave a Reply

